Tuesday, July 25, 2023: Open Session

Trustees in Attendance: Echo Alexzander, Diana Brazeale, Janis Hagen, Stephanie Sekscinski, and Allyson Tuckness.

Trustee(s) Absent: None.

Also present: Alecia Ahart; Wanetta Bright; Renee Brumett; Polly Dross; Elizabeth Dudash-Buskirk; Ann Elwell; Heath Emerson; Charlee Evans; Gretchen Garrity; John Garrity; Jordan Gloyd; Whit Gillenwaters; Representative Jamie Gragg; Sarah Hayter; Aileena Keen; Reggie Micham; Mike Miller; Rebecca Miller; Thomas Miller; Tory Pegram; Robin Rader; Dana Roberts; Mike Rogers; Donna Thompson; Mary Thompson; Representative Bob Titus; Don Watson; and several additional unidentified guests.

Christian County Library's Board of Trustees met for a regular monthly session on Tuesday, July 25, 2023 in the Netzer Room of the Ozark Community Branch.

Vice President Allyson Tuckness presided and voted when needed to reach a majority.

Any reports, exhibits, or supporting materials presented during the open portions of this meeting and referred to in these minutes may be obtained <u>upon request</u>.

Start Time: 6:00 p.m.

Consent Agenda

Allyson Tuckness requested that the Report of the Executive Director be removed to congratulate Nixa staff on the success of the One Nixa, One Read collaboration between the City of Nixa, Nixa Public School District, and the library.

Janis Hagen moved to adopt all the remaining items in the consent agenda. Stephanie Sekscinski seconded. The two new Trustees both abstained since they were not at previous meetings, but all remaining Trustees were in favor. Allyson Tuckness voted to reach a majority. The motion passed. Roll Call: Trustee Alexzander: Abstain; Trustee Brazeale: Abstain; Trustee Hagen: Aye; Trustee Sekscinski: Aye; and Trustee Tuckness: Aye.

Stephanie Sekscinski then moved to approve the Report of the Executive Director. Janis Hagen seconded. All Trustees present were in favor. The motion passed. Roll Call: Trustee Alexzander: Aye; Trustee Brazeale: Aye; Trustee Hagen: Aye; and Trustee Sekscinski: Aye.

Administrative Highlights

Adult Services Librarian Charlee Evans and Sparta Community Branch Manager Whit Gillenwaters shared the continued success of the Uncovering History: Gravestone Cleaning program.

Old Business

None presented.

New Business

Welcome to New Trustees

Echo Alexzander and Diana Brazeale were welcomed as new Trustees.

Officer Elections

President

Janis Hagen nominated Allyson Tuckness for President of Christian County Library's Board of Trustees. Stephanie Sekscinski seconded. Trustee Alexzander; Trustee Brazeale; Trustee Hagen; and Trustee Sekscinski were in favor. Trustee Tuckness abstained. The motion passed. Roll Call: Trustee

Alexzander: Aye; Trustee Brazeale: Aye; Trustee Hagen: Aye; Trustee Sekscinski: Aye; and Trustee Tuckness: Abstain.

Vice-President

Allyson Tuckness nominated Stephanie Sekscinski for Vice President of Christian County Library's Board of Trustees. Janis Hagen seconded. Trustee Alexzander; Trustee Brazeale; Trustee Hagen; and Trustee Tuckness were in favor. Trustee Sekscinski abstained. The motion passed. Roll Call: Trustee Alexzander: Aye; Trustee Brazeale: Aye; Trustee Hagen: Aye; Trustee Sekscinski: Abstain; and Trustee Tuckness: Aye.

Treasurer

Janis Hagen nominated Echo Alexzander for Treasurer of Christian County Library's Board of Trustees. Stephanie Sekscinski seconded. Trustee Brazeale; Trustee Hagen; Trustee Sekscinski; and Trustee Tuckness were in favor. Trustee Alexzander abstained. The motion passed. Roll Call: Trustee Alexzander: Abstain; Trustee Brazeale: Aye; Trustee Hagen: Aye; Trustee Sekscinski: Aye; and Trustee Tuckness: Aye.

Audit

Mary Miles from Miles CPA & Associates, LLC presented the results of the library's 2022 audit and answered questions from Trustees.

Public Comments

This month speakers included: Elizabeth Dudash-Buskirk, Polly Dross, Gretchen Garrity, Aileena Keen, Reggie Micham, Mike Miller, and Mike Rogers.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned by the presiding Chair at 6:52 p.m.