Tuesday, August 22, 2023: Open Session

Trustees in Attendance: Echo Alexzander, Diana Brazeale, Janis Hagen, Stephanie Sekscinski, and Allyson Tuckness.

Trustee(s) Absent: None.

Also present: Alecia Ahart; DeeDee Brashers; Wanetta Bright; Renee Brumett; Jeanne Coburn; Polly Dross; Elizabeth Dudash-Buskirk; John Garrity; Jordan Gloyd; Whit Gillenwaters; Representative Jamie Gragg; Mary Hernandez de Carl; Reggie Micham; Sheila Michaels; Mary Miller; Mike Miller; Tory Pegram; Dana Roberts (until 6:30 p.m.); Deborah Spindle; and several additional unidentified guests.

Christian County Library's Board of Trustees met for a regular monthly session on Tuesday, August 22, 2023 in the Large Meeting Room of the Nixa Community Branch.

President Allyson Tuckness presided.

Start Time: 6:01 p.m.

Consent Agenda

Stephanie Sekscinski moved to approve all items in the consent agenda. Echo Alexzander seconded. All Trustees present were in favor. The motion passed. Roll Call: Trustee Alexzander: Aye; Trustee Brazeale: Aye; Trustee Hagen: Aye; and Trustee Sekscinski: Aye.

Administrative Highlights

Director of Youth Services Dana Roberts shared highlights from the 2023 Summer Reading Challenge.

Old Business

None presented.

New Business

Setting the 2023 Tax Levy

Executive Director Brumett presented the 2023 tax levy numbers and explained the complex calculation process.

President Tuckness then opened the meeting up for public comments about the levy. None were presented.

Stephanie Sekscinski moved to set the 2023 tax levy rate at 0.1861. Diana Brazeale seconded. All Trustees present were in favor. The motion passed. Roll Call: Trustee Alexzander: Aye; Trustee Brazeale: Aye; Trustee Hagen: Aye; and Trustee Sekscinski: Aye.

Board Packet

Trustee Alexzander explained to Trustees why she believes posting the board's preparation materials and materials presented by public speakers would bring more transparency to the work of the library. She then moved from July 2023 forward to make all Board Packets from open sessions, along with public comment forms and any accompanying materials provided by commenters (with addresses, phone numbers, and email redacted), available on the library website as a separate attachment in addition to the minutes. Diana Brazeale seconded. All Trustees present were in favor. The motion passed. Roll Call: Trustee Alexzander: Aye; Trustee Brazeale: Aye; Trustee Hagen: Aye; and Trustee Sekscinski: Aye.

Public Comments

This month speakers included: Alecia Ahart, Wanetta Bright, Elizabeth Dudash-Buskirk, Jeanne Coburn, Polly Dross, John Garrity, Mary Hernandez de Carl, Sheila Michaels, Reggie Micham, Mike Miller, and Deborah Spindle.

Adjournment The meeting was adjourned by the presiding Chair at 7:10 p.m.